Another Pregnancy?

Month 43: August 2016 (3 years, 7 months with Mirena)

For the past year and a half, my ‘periods’ have consisted of literally a few hours of light spotting for a day and that’s it! They’re not regular and I’ve had months with no spotting at all. My “periods” of light spotting last 3 days at most. The last time I had a 7-day long period was in October 2014.

I had one day of light spotting in May, then went 78 days with absolutely nothing (I did a pregnancy test and it was negative). I had another day of very light spotting on 20 July and then ovulated 11 days later. I could tell that I was ovulation from the change in mucus … there was lots of it and it had the consistency of egg-white; wet, stringy and flexible.

ovulation3 days post ovulation (day 14 of my cycle) I began to feel funny. My breasts were sore, swollen and tender and I knew it was two weeks too early for it to be PMS. I was headachy, had lower back pain for a few days and on 5 August, I had severe cramps and nausea. It didn’t feel like a tummy bug, as the cramps were really low down. I immediately thought back to my last suspected chemical pregnancy but this one felt so different. Different symptoms, different time frame.

Four days later, on 9 August (day 21 of my cycle), I got a very early period that started with heavy spotting and then continued on and off for three days before having a full day of light bleeding on 12 Aug. The spotting and light bleeding continued on and off for a few more days and was accompanied by cramps, headaches, nausea and back pain in my lower back and hips. On my second day of light bleeding (14 August) there was this odd looking, stringy clot that looked suspiciously like a tiny, thin, twisted umbilical cord attached to a little lumpy clot. I’m sure this was an early miscarriage after seeing at that!

The spotting, light bleeding, cramps, headaches and back pain lasted for a total of 10 days and I can only guess that this was the termination of another Chemical Pregnancy, as a home pregnancy test showed up negative, but I’m not surprised, as I hadn’t even had time to “miss” a period yet, so I didn’t really expect a HPT to pick up anything.

It’s just scary, as I didn’t think ‘falling pregnant’ with the Mirena was this easy or this common!  The only advice I can give is get to know your body.  If you think you’re ovulating, rather be on the safe side and use extra protection (condoms) during your fertile period to prevent this from happening, if you can.  I know it’s sometimes difficult, as this one snuck up on me, as I ovulated earlier than usual and had been intimate with my hubby the day before I knew I was ovulating early!

* Chemical Pregnancy: A chemical pregnancy is a very early miscarriage which takes place before anything can be seen on an ultrasound scan, usually around the fifth week that you are pregnant. It means that a sperm has fertilised your egg, but later on, the egg fails to survive. Even this early on in pregnancy there is a change in hormone levels which allows the pregnancy test to turn positive. The hormone that your test measures is known as hCG, or human chorionic gonadotrophin. In a chemical pregnancy (or very early miscarriage) the test is initially positive but then your period may start, or a further pregnancy test may be negative. The reason it is termed a chemical pregnancy is that it is only the missed period and positive pregnancy test that show that you are pregnant. It would be too early to see anything on an ultrasound scan.

Leave a Reply

